James Barker Lectureship

The Barker Lectureship is named in honor of Dr. James L. Barker (1880–1958), an internationally renowned scholar in phonetics and former chairman of BYU’s Language Department (1907–1914). Dr. Barker, who also taught at Weber Academy, the University of Utah, and the University of Chicago, studied at the University of Neuchâtel, the Collège de France and the Sorbonne and later lectured on dozens of American and European university campuses. He was honored for his work in phonetics by a decoration from the French government – the Palmes d’Officier de l’Académie. Dr. Barker served twice as mission president for the LDS Church – from 1942–1944, as President of the Argentina Mission, and from 1946–1949 as President of the French Mission. In addition to authoring many scholarly articles and books, he translated The Book of Mormon into French in 1906 and wrote The Divine Church, a treatise on the Christian Church to the restoration. Dr. Barker spoke and taught German, French, Spanish, and Italian. In 1952 he returned to the BYU faculty and was teaching here at the time of his death, in 1958, in an automobile accident.

Former Recipients

1983 Josette Ashford               1984 Harold Madsen                      1985 Royal Skousen                            1986 Marvin Folson                       1987 Randall Jones

1988 Robert Blair                     1990 John S. Harris                        1991 Dilworth Parkinson                   1992 Cheryl Brown                         1993 John Robertson

1994 Jerry Larson                    1995 Alan Melby                              1996 Chantal Thompson                    1997 David Paxman                        1998 William Eggington

1999 Daniel Peterson              2000 Lynn Henrichsen                  2001 Wilfried Decoo                           2002 Melvin Luthy                         2003 Donald Jarvis

2004 Neil J. Anderson            2005 Kristine Hansen                    2006 David Hart                                  2007 Mark Davies                          2008 Ray Clifford

2009 David Eddington           2010 Robert Russell                        2011 Deryle Lonsdale                          2012 Donald W. Parry                   2013 Janis Nuckolls

2014 Greg Clark                        2016 Orlando Alba                          2017 Dana Bourgerie                          2018 Deborah Dean