New Leadership for Department of Philosophy

Joseph D.  Parry appointed chair, David Jensen appointed associate chair of the Department of Philosophy.


Left: Joseph D. Parry, chair, Department of Philosophy. Right: David Jensen, associate chair, Department of Philosophy

PROVO, Utah (August 1, 2016)—Joseph D. Parry has recently been appointed chair of the Department of Philosophy. Parry, a professor of interdisciplinary humanities, has taught at BYU since 1985. He has previously served as associate dean and interim dean of Undergraduate Education, director of the Honors Program, and associate dean of the College of Humanities. He will replace Travis Anderson, whose term of service has come to a close.

David Jensen, associate professor of philosophy, has been appointed to serve as associate chair of the department.

“Professor Anderson has been a remarkable chair, leaving behind a strong legacy of consecrated leadership and service,” said Dean Scott Miller. “Professor Parry brings a great deal of wisdom and administrative experience to his new position at a key moment in department history. He and Professor Jensen will lead the department well as it moves through a period of retirements and new hires.”

Parry received his M.A. from BYU in English literature in 1987 and his Ph.D. in British and American literature from the University of Utah in 1995. Professor Jensen received his M.A. and Ph.D. in Philosophy from UCLA in 1998 and 2005, respectively.